MINUTES RESIDENTIAL CONSTRUCTION ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING OCTOBER 19, 2022

Call to Order

Mr. Johnson called the meeting to order at 9:00 am on October 19, 2022 at 6606 Tussing Rd, Reynoldsburg.

Roll Call

Committee members present: Ric Johnson, Don Phillips, Mike Boeckermann, Lyndsay Bott, Andre Frasier, Bill Kaufholz, Dan Spada, and Christie Ward.

Staff members present: Jay Richards & Regina Hanshaw

Visitors present: Kris Klaus, Tom Moore, Tim McClintock, Gerald O'Connor

Agenda – Changes or Additions

Mr. Phillips moved and Mr. Kaufholz seconded to accept the agenda. Motion passed unanimously.

Consideration of Minutes

MIN-1 August 24, 2022 Meeting Minutes

Mr. Phillips moved and Mr. Kaufholz seconded to approve the August 24, 2022 meeting minutes. Motion passed unanimously.

Old Business

OB-1 Petition 22-01 – 2020 NEC RCO

Mr. Johnson presented proposed modifications sections 210.8(A), (A)(2), (A)(5), (D), (F), 210.12(A), 210,63(B)(1), 230.67, 230.85 to the 2020 NEC and retaining existing language in RCO Section 3402. After discussion by the Committee and input by Mr. McClintock, Mr. Moore and Mr. O'Connor, the Committee took the following actions:

Mr. Phillips moved and Mr. Spada seconded to accept the Mr. Johnson's proposed changes to section 210.8(A) to remove 250 volt receptacles; retain existing modification to section 210.8(A)(2); remove existing modification to section 210.8(A)(5); remove existing deletion of section 2010.8(D); accept BBS approved modification to section 210.8(F) regarding GFCI requirements for HVAC equipment; remove existing modification to section 210.12(A); and to retain existing language in RCO Section 3402. Motion passed with Mr. Johnson voting no by a roll call vote.

Mr. Phillips moved and Mr. Spada seconded to make clarifications regarding application of the NEC to 1-, 2- & 3- family dwellings rather than 1- & 2- family dwellings except in section 210.52(E)(1). Motion passed unanimously by a roll call vote.

Mr. Boeckermann moved to keep section 230.67 regarding surge protection modified to use '23 NEC language. Motion failed for lack of a second.

Mr. Frazier moved and Mr. Kaufholz seconded to delete section 230.67 regarding surge protection. Motion passed with Mr. Phillips, Mr. Boeckermann and Mr. Spada voting no by a roll call vote.

Mr. Phillips moved and Ms. Ward seconded to recommend adoption of 2020 NEC with approved modifications. Motion passed with Mr. Johnson voting no by a roll call vote.

OB-2 2021 IRC Chapters 6 & 7 Review

Mr. Richards presented the significant changes to the 2021 IRC Chapter 6 including the code change proposal, reasoning and the cost impact for the change noted by the code change proponent. After review of each change and discussion, Mr. Phillips moved and Mr. Spada seconded to approve the changes of 2021 IRC Chapter 6. Motion passed unanimously by roll call vote.

Mr. Richards presented the significant changes to the 2021 IRC Chapter 7 including the code change proposal, reasoning and the cost impact for the change noted by the code change proponent. After review of each change and discussion, Mr. Phillips moved and Mr. Kaufholz seconded to approve the changes of 2021 IRC Chapter 7. Motion passed unanimously by roll call vote.

New Business

There was no old business.

Reports from Chairperson

Mr. Johnson updated the Committee regarding his involvement with model code development committees and that he would not be seeking election as chair while participating on ICC committees in 2024.

Reports from Executive Secretary

No report from the Executive Secretary.

Public Comments

Ms. Klaus thanked the Committee for its review and recognized it for its role in residential code development in Ohio.

Comments from Committee Members

No comments from committee members.

Future Meeting Schedule

December 14 * More as needed for code review

Motion to Adjourn

Mr. Phillips moved and Ms. Kaufholz seconded to adjourn. Motion passed unanimously.

Ric Johnson, Chair Residential Construction Advisory Committee

Regina Hanshaw, Executive Secretary Board of Building Standards

Distribution: File Committee Members and Staff